Well, the Oscars are now gone with the wind. I enjoyed the show. I like Ellen Degeneres, and also, let's face it, no one after Bob Hope has really come up to his standard. I like a woman host. I like her gentle humor. And really, I don't care about the host, it's all about the awards, the dresses, wait...about the dresses and then the awards.
I was pleased "12 Years a Slave" won best picture. I felt sad for "Gravity", but it's difficult to compare the two. One is filled with narrative and characters galore, the other is silent and rests on the shoulders of one actor. The actoring wins were unsurprising. Yet not disappointing. Leto and Nipongo were perfect choices, although Jennifer Lawrence was a strong contender for supporting actress. McConnahey was expected, and he did a great job, but I would have prefered Chitwel Edjofor. Blanchett was amazing, but the movie was awful, and subtly misognistic. Blanchett owes nothing to Allen; she pulled that character out of the fire by herself. But I saw tears in Sandra Bullock's eyes, and she carried her film without melodrama and showiness. I admit I wish she'd won.
I'm thrilled a Black director's picture won artistically it was amazing and daring, yet thrilled Cuaron won as director, because his message was sublime and timeless and he executed it flawlessly.
I feel Spike Jonze deserved original screenplay and Ridley adapted screenplay, and wasn't it great a Black screenwriter actually won?
So, no real complaints, other than who was not nominated, and that's an old story now.
As to fashion, though I am a person dressed in jeans and sweaters and clogs, well, like the rest of the world, we live our princess dreams through this show, so without any qualifications or knowledge I'm happy to pipe up. I think Sandra Bullock had the best dress, and was elegant and regal. I loved Jennifer Lawrence's red strapless as well. Angelina Jolie was the overall beauty of the night, with only Cate Blanchett to rival her. I do not like dresses slit to the waist in front, and black doesn't work so well on Oscar night. There. I've made my stand. Meryl Streep was less hideous, but she represents what I imagine I would look like if I had the misfortune to be invited. Julie Roberts can't really dress for this occasion either. Luckily, it means nothing about their acting ability, except they can't act their way into elegance. I liked pale pink this year, on Camila Elves and others. I think the Good Witch costume of Ellen was perhaps the best pink. Jared Leto was the prettiest of them all, in his white jacket tuxedo.
No comments:
Post a Comment